For our wedding, Jeff and I got the Kitchen Aid pasta roller attachment. I was excited to use it, but it remained in storage until I got the assignment to make my pasta carbonara for Teton Family Magazine. The spring issue is all about local food. Originally I thought it would be great to use my house cured guanciale and make pasta with store bought flour. Then my friend Claire upped the challenge and reminded me that I had locally grown organic wheat berries. Jeff has a 6 bucket system where he sprouts the berries to feed to our chickens so they get fresh greens in the winter. Claire’s dad has a hand cranked grain mill in his house. So…Super Bowl Sunday I drove on over to Glen’s house and spent an hour, sweating and grunting to grind a few pounds of flour.

 

Next I headed back home and began the process of making the pasta dough. I bought some white and whole wheat flour at the store just in case my flour didn’t work out.

 

Making the pasta dough with eggs from our chickens

Our hens

Here are some pictures of the first three pasta balls...on top is my flour, in the middle is the store bought whole wheat flour and on the bottom is the white flour.

 

Then I realized that the freshly ground flour looked a bit grainy. The wheat bran would have to be removed. I searched my mostly empty kitchen (we are in the midst of a full house remodel) and decided to try out the metal splatter thingy that we put over the pan when we are cooking bacon. It worked wonders.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Left to Right: store bought white, sifted freshly ground wheat, store bought wheat, unsifted freshly ground wheat

Finally it came time to roll out the dough and make the pasta. Unfortunately I could not use the pasta roller and take pictures at the same time, so there are no pics of that process…but I must say having used a hand crank pasta maker and the Kitchen Aid roller, I cannot recommend enough the Kitchen Aid roller. It makes the process so incredibly easy. Ok, enough product endorsement. And so, the what you have all been waiting for…the final product.

 

“Neopolitan Pasta” Left to Right: store bought white, store bought wheat, sifted freshly ground wheat

The unsifted fresh flour didn’t work out at all, but the sifted flour was AMAZING. I brought the plate down the street to a friend’s Super Bowl Party. Everyone who tasted agreed, the freshly ground flour was by far the best tasting of the three. It was rich and nutty, yet quite delicate all at the same time. Now all I need to do is buy the grain mill attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer and I will be set!

Fresh Egg Pasta

from the Kitchen Aid pasta roller manual

4 large eggs

1 Tbs water

3 1/2 c sifted flour (preferably freshly ground)

1/2 tsp salt

Place eggs, water, flour and salt in mixer bowl. Attach bowl and flat beater. Turn to speed 2 and mix 30 seconds.

Exchange flat beater for dough hook. Turn to Speed 2 and knead 2 minutes. Remove dough from bowl and hand knead for 1 to 2 minutes. Let rest 20 minutes. Divide dough into 4 pieces before processing with Pasta Sheet Roller attachment.

For those of you who have a hand crank pasta maker here is a link to Jaime Oliver’s egg pasta recipe. I made this 2 years ago for some friends and we all really enjoyed it. Just a little more labor intensive…but well worth it!

 

