OK I am on a bit of a roll posting stuff. I guess when you get in the mood, you get in the mood. I was just checking out my friend Carrie’s blog Rhubarb Sky. She had a delicious fish salad recipe that used sprouted mung beans. I told her I would send her along my “veggie burger” recipe which is really more like a veggie cake (and by that I mean like a crab cake). I have one friend who even made this as a loaf.  I decided that I would just post it here because I have been passing this recipe along to lots of people in the last month.

This recipe is tweaked from a summer Ayurvedic cooking class that I took a few years ago with Cate Stillman and Tanya Alexander. It is fabulous served with baked sweet potato fries and the cilantro mint chutney. Jeff prefers his on a roll. I do not. This is the single chef sized potion with enough for a couple of leftover cakes for the next day.

1/2 cup cooked quinois *
1/4 c  sprouted mung beans**
1/2 small carrot shredded
1 clove garlic minced
1/2 celery stalk finely diced
1 tbs flour (use rice flour if you are gluten free)
3 Tbs nut butter (I prefer almond, but have used peanut and cashew)
1-2 Tbs minced herbs (basil, oregano, mint, cilantro…you choose)
4-6 tsp ghee (clarified butter….you can also use canola oil) divided

Saute carrot, celery, garlic and mung beans in ghee 2 tsp ghee or oil until soft. Add all ingredients to a bowl, mix and form into patties. Cook in 2-3 tsp ghee or oil.

top with cilantro/mint chutney
1/4 c shredded unsweetened coconut, leaves from 1/4 bunch of cilantro, equal amount of mint, 1/4″ piece of ginger 1 tsp tbs warm water and a little maple syrup or agave. blend in blender or food processor.

*Quinois

Rinse 1/4 c quinois a few times in a colander. Add to small pan with 1/2 c water. Bring to boil, turn down to simmer, cover and cook for 20 minutes.

** Sprouted Mung Beans

Mung beans are found in Chinese medicine and Ayurveda (ancient healing art of India) to have tremendous cleansing properties. Those of you who have ever seasonally cleansed have probably eaten a lot of these.  They have a very mild flavor and are great added to salads and soups. You can find them at most natural food markets. Some, like Whole Grocer in Jackson have them in the salad bar already sprouted. They are small and green. My ghetto way of sprouting (as I seem to have an issue with buying sprouting jars) is to let them soak over night (for this recipe you will need only a couple of tablespoons worth). Then drain them and let them sit in a bowl on the counter. Rinse and strain morning and night and soon you will have little spermy looking sprouts. Usually takes 3-5 days depending.

