I have been working on my latest article for The Valley Citizen and thought I would write a bit about breakfast. Breakfast being the most important meal of the day and all and it is quite easy for a single chef.

Working on the article brought back memories of making breakfast for myself when I lived in the Driggs’ Idaho train depot. The building is supposedly haunted, though I never had any experiences other than a possible ghost cat. I loved that building. I liked to call it my city loft because it had lost of sunlight, high ceilings and definite character. It was in that apartment that I taught myself not only how to cook for one, but how to cook in general.

Most of my early meals consisted of some pre-made ingredients and not very many herbs or spices as I had no idea what I was supposed to do with them. I often used recipes and stuck to them like glue for fear or screwing up royally.  One of the few recipes that I did create and ate quite often on Saturday mornings while drinking coffee and listening to “Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me” was my Ghetto Huevos. I have had tremendous Juevos Rancheros at a few restaurants in my life, but never had much of a desire to make them for myself. First of all, ranchero sauce required cooking with spices and chilis…which I have already explained, I did not know how to use.  I really liked the restaurants who made their rancheros con frijoles, but opening up an entire can of beans to cook up a single portion breakfast seemed like a waste…and so, I created “Ghetto Huevos.” It is not really Huevos Rancheros…in fact I think it fits more into a backpacking trip than a Mexican restaurant. I suppose I could have named it Basterdized Huevos Rancheros, but at the time “ghetto” was part of my regular slang. If something was a cheap version of the real thing, it got this moniker. Not sure the Jewish community would be thrilled with that, but most slang doesn’t have anything to do with the original meaning of the word. OK I digress…and so I bring you Ghetto Juevos. You get to choose how you like your eggs cooked. Sometimes I cooked them over medium, sometimes I scrambled them.

1-2 corn tortillas

1 tsp oil, divided or cooking spray

1/2-1  c dehydrated refried black beans (found in bulk section at natural food markets)

water:  1/3 c water for 1/2 c beans, 3/4 c water for 1 c beans

1-2 eggs

1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese

garnish: salsa, avocado slices, sour cream

  • Preheat broiler
  • Bring  water to a boil. Add refried beans, cover and simmer on low heat for 5 minutes, stir often.
  • Heat a pan on medium heat, add 1/2 tsp oil or cooking spray and fry the corn tortilla on both sides until crisp. Remove tortilla from pan, add remaining 1/2 tsp oil and cook eggs (scramble or fry)
  • Place tortilla/s on a baking sheet, spread refried beans on tortillas, place eggs on top and finish with shredded cheese.
  • Cook under broiler until cheese is melted.
  • Garnish with salsa, avocado and/or sour cream
