When I was a kid the only thing the toaster oven was used for was making English Muffin Pizzas. Because let’s be honest, toaster ovens typically do not toast bread very quickly. So, as an adult I never considered purchasing one. Then two years ago Jeff and I received one as a Christmas present and ever since then I have been singing their praise. What is the big deal with toaster ovens you ask? Well they are perfect for single serving meals, cook things a little quicker (in my book) and use a lot less energy than a standard oven. The most fabulous thing is, they come in a variety of sizes so if you have a small kitchen, you can probably still fit a miniature one on the counter (or store it on the fridge when you aren’t using it).

My Favorite Uses for the Toaster Oven

  • Roasting Root Veggies Cut up your favorite root vegetables – beets, carrots, parsnips – along with some onions and toss with olive oil and rosemary, salt and pepper. Roast on 350 for 30-40 minutes. While the veggies roast, steam and saute some chopped kale (remove the tough stem first). Serve roasted veggies over the kale and top with goat cheese. Yummy! (I will post a picture of this when I get back home
  • Fresh Baked Cookies I am a big fan of fresh out of the oven cookies. I also don’t like having 2 dozen cookies lying around, because I will eat them. The solution, make a batch of cookie dough, bake as many as you want to eat that night in the toaster oven, wrap the remaining dough in a log in parchment paper and plastic wrap and throw the log in the freezer. Then when you want another cookie you can just pull out the log and cut off the desired amount of chunks. I am working on the perfect single chef 4-6 cookie recipe, but haven’t worked out all the kinks yet. I’ll keep you all posted if and when I have mastered it.
  • Baked Potatoes
  • Frozen or Fresh Appetizers We made 2 of our Thanksgiving apps in the toaster oven. The oven was full of bird, so the toaster oven was the perfect solution.

For some reviews on different models check here.

