Sorry folks. I realize that I have been M.I.A. for over a month. My excuse…I have been working several jobs, working on the yard every nice day we get and I am planning a wedding. I know these should not excuse me as I am still cooking, but I want you to know I do take my test kitchen seriously and although I’m cooking, I’m not measuring ingredients or trying out multiple versions of a meal to discover which is the best. That being said, I am now going to vow to write at least one entry each week. I have a lot of great tips to share and I just need to sit down and type them in.

And so…for my return recipe I will give you an extremely simple fall/winter meal that comes straight from my home state Idaho. In fact this is based of a recipe from the Idaho Cookbook. Sorry no picture. My batteries were all dead the night I made this dish.

Recipe Note: The local organic food store here will cut a cabbage in half or quarters for you if you ask. Try and find a small grocery store near you with friendly folks and just ask. What have you got to lose?

I am being quite vague on amounts of each ingredient. This recipe is quite forgiving. Cut up as much veggies as you think you can eat. Add a second Italian sausage if you want to make two meals out of this. Keep an eye on things during the last step. If it seems to get dry add more chick broth. If there is broth left over after the 15 minutes of steaming, remove the lid and cook it off.

Sausage, Spuds and Cabbage

1 Tbs Olive Oil

1 Italian Sausage, hot or mild (~1/4 lb), cut in 3/4″ slices

2 small potatoes (your choice, I like Yukon Gold), cut in 1/4″ slices (about 1 1/2 )

1/2 small-medium onion, sliced in crescent moons (about 1 cup)

3/4 cup shredded cabbage (I use red)

1/3 c chicken broth

  • Heat pan on medium and add olive oil. Add sausage and potatoes and cook, stirring as needed for 10 minutes.
  • Add onions, reduce to medium low heat and continue to cook for another 20 minutes or until onions begin to caramelize.
  • Add cabbage and chicken broth, cover, return to medium heat and cook for an additional 15 minutes.
  • Serve straight up or with spicy mustard.
