Simple French Onion Soup

Simple Onion Soup

This afternoon as I was busy transplanting herbs from the garden to household pots, I decided that what my body most craved was soup. This was a good thing as I have been working like a madwoman and have not had time to shop, thus, there is little food in my refrigerator. I looked into the kitchen and noticed the overflowing bowl of onions and thought, hey what about onion soup?

And so here I present you with a simple and delicious onion soup for one. But to make it even better, double the recipe for two. Two you say? Well when making soup it is always good to have leftovers because the flavors taste so much better the next day when they have had time to meld together.

I have been on a quest for the past few years for the ultimate French Onion Soup. I have tried using red wine, brandy and other fancy ingredients. To be honest, this recipe tasted just as good. Enjoy.

Simple Onion Soup

1  Tbs olive oil

1  Tbs butter

1 yellow onion, sliced

1 clove garlic, minced

2 cups beef broth

Bouquet Garni (1 sprig fresh thyme or a pinch of dried, 1 sprig fresh flat leaf parsley or a pinch dried, 1 small bay leaf or 1/2 large, 1 sprig fresh tarragon or a pinch dried – tied together in a cheese cloth sack*)

Salt and Pepper to taste

  • Melt butter and add olive oil to a small soup pot or sauce pan
  • Add onions and cook over med-low heat until onions caramelize (about 30 minutes). If the onions begin to scorch, add a little water to the pan
  • Add garlic and cook for one minute longer
  • Add beef broth, Bouquet Garni, salt and pepper bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer
  • Simmer partially covered for at least 30 minutes and as long as an hour. Taste and season with more salt and pepper if needed
  • If you want to get fancy, slice french bread into rounds, put good Fontina or Gruyere cheese on top and melt in the broiler. Place the cheese croutons on top of your soup

*Bouquet Garni is a common ingredient found in soup and stock making. It is worthwhile to invest in a small roll of cheese cloth and some kitchen twine so that you can easily throw one together. I had trouble finding kitchen twine in my area so I just asked the butcher in the meat department if he would give me some. If you are using fresh herbs you can also use a tea ball. Dried herbs tend to slip through the mesh a little easier.

