Last month when preparing for my monthly Valley Citizen article I attempted both pie and two layer chocolate cake. Well, the cake is going to take a little longer to perfect, but as you know by the recipes below, the pies were successful. When chatting with the guys at work about The Single Chef, Dano mentioned Chocolate Mug Cake. How could I have forgotten this kitschy little dessert? Well it arrived via email months before The Single Chef was born, and to be honest, I don’t like cooking stuff in my microwave. The microwave, which is a relic left from my days in Ogg Hall at UW-Madison is typically used for fast melting of butter and last minute defrosting of meat for dinner.

And so this morning I made the 5 Minute Chocolate Mug Cake (though it took me closer to 7 minutes). The verdict? It is ok. It definitely has the microwave rubbery texture and a few added ingredients would give it some extra flavor. When Jeff asked me why bother, I said that sometimes you just want chocolate. Jeff’s response was “so is this supposed to be like ‘even bad chocolate cake is good because it is chocolate cake?'” I guess so…that is if you are in desperate need of chocolate. So with the disclaimer that this is more for the humor of making a chocolate cake in less than 10 minutes in a coffee mug, I present you with 5 Minute Mug Cake.

  • 4 Tbs (1/4 c)  flour
  • 4 Tbs (1/4 c) sugar
  • 2 Tbs cocoa
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbs milk
  • 3 Tbs oil
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • Optional Ingredients: Molten Lava Cake (3 Tbs chocolate Chips) Mocha Cake (2 Tbs instant espresso powder)

Mix ingredients in a bowl, pour into a large mug (16 oz or greater) and microwave for 3 minutes on high. Pop out of the mug and eat.

