Usually altering a recipe that was written for 4-6 servings so that you can cook it for one is simple. You cut the flour back from 4 cups to 1 cup. You shrink the sugar from 1/2 c sugar to 2 Tbs sugar. The measuring chart has been coming in handy I must say. Something I still struggle with though is eggs. Most recipes call for large eggs. But is a small egg really 1/3 or 1/4 the size of a large egg? Not really. Well…not until now. The other day I was at the local natural food market. I went to grab a dozen local eggs and found this.

Bird's Eggs

Bird's Eggs

It was a dozen eggs of various sizes, several of which were tiny! I had discovered the perfect Single Chef egg. The proportions are not exactly the same as a regular size egg. There definitely is a greater yolk to white ratio, but so far it seems to work alright.

I was told that the eggs came from a breed of chickens called Easter Egg Chickens, though I read that those hens produce blue or green eggs, not brown. So the breed is still truly unknown, but I was also told that young egg laying hens lay smaller eggs.

So if you are looking for these tiny eggs and live in Teton Valley, head to Barrels and Bins and check out Bird’s Eggs. If you live elsewhere, ask around at the local farmer’s market or farm stand.

For those who can’t find tiny eggs, there are still some options. Laterly I have taken to scrambling a large egg and measuring out 2 Tbs of egg as best I can. I then put the rest of the egg in a jar and store it in the fridge to use in the next few days. If I don’t think I will use it, I scramble it up and give it to my dog. The other option is Egg Beaters. Egg Beaters are eggs whites, separeted from the yolks and fortified with vitamins. They are then blended with emulsifiers and thickening agents. While most of the fat and cholesterol lies in the yolk, so does the taste and  most of the health benefits. For this reason I always try to stick to the real macoy, but hey , you gotta do what is best and easiest for you.

